Taos Up and Over 10k

This weekend I went to Taos, NM and ran there 10k  Up and Over mountain race.  I am not really a trail runner so to speak, I am more of a road runner, but I thought this race would be a nice break from the usual as well as I could visit some family that lived up in Taos.  The race was only a 10k ( which is 6.21 miles), and as a marathon runner I thought it would be really easy.  I mean whats 6 miles when you usually run 10 miles for fun?  Well to say the least this race was not “fun”.  It was a lot of work! Right before the race, the officials said to watch out because a bear had been sited on the trail earlier that morning!  What a great way to start the race!  We started the race at 9,000 feet above sea level, went all the way up to 12,000 feet, and then back down.  We ran up a “bunny” ski slope up the mountain, let me tell you a “bunny” slope is easy to ski down, but really hard to run up!  Then we ran down a variety of different slopes down the mountain.  There where some places on the course that I was sliding down the mountain and I couldn’t stop!  I just had to pray to God that I would not fall and keep falling all the way down the mountain! I thought to myself  great I did this race for fun, good training for my marathon race coming up and I am going to break my leg! I did have some close calls on falling, but never actually fell to the ground! The first female to cross the finish line finished in 1:06:42, which is a pace of 10:44/mile.  That is crazy fast considering we all had to CLIMB up the trail, it was impossible to run up it, which meant she ran like 5min/ miles down hill!  My time was 1:53:48, which was a pace of 18:19/mile, this time would be bad for a regular 10k, but I am just happy that I finished in one piece! I don’t know maybe if I am crazy enough I will do this race again next year….

Racing into the finish line

About angierunner

I am a college graduate that never moved away from her college town. One of my hobbies is to train and run races, usually half marathons and marathons. I am always trying new healthy foods. I just recently got into eating lots of Vegan and Vegetarian dishes. I am not a Vegetarian, but I like to "flirt" with the idea. This blog will be mainly just me living my life...
This entry was posted in Races. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

