Duke City Marathon 10-17-10

Well, this blog is a little late, but a week ago Sunday I ran the Duke Marathon in Albuquerque, NM. Yes, thats 26.2 miles. I have been training for this marathon for about 3 months now and I thought I was some what ready for it. I had not done all the long runs that I had scheduled to do, but since this was my 5th marathon I didn’t worry too much. I wanted to get better than my PR ( 3:55) and was aiming for 3:50. On race day I was feeling pretty good, I didn’t think I could get a 3:50 so I was aiming for around 4 hours.
The race started off pretty good. I was running a little bit faster than I wanted to ( 8:30/pace a mile) I started to slow down around mile 15. My legs where hurting pretty bad and although I didn’t have to walk at all my pace slowed down the last couple of miles to about a 10/pace a mile.
I finished with an official time of 4:01:22 and my garmin said 3:59:47. I finished around my goal so I was happy. I wish I could have got a PR, but you can’t win them all! emoticon
The good part was that since the race was in my home town, and my hubby’s, my dad and his parents cheered me on through out the race which was really cool! My hubby even got one of my good friends to come to the finish along with her little girls! Usually for races its only me and my hubby that we know in that city so it was cool to see so many friends and family while I race!
I think for the next marathon I will need to do more leg weights, since it was my legs that gave out on me, especially my upper thigh area. I didn’t do that much weights while training for this race and I could definitely feel it at the end!
I think I might train next for a half marathon that’s in the town I live in ( Las Cruces) that is in December. Going from training for a full marathon to a half should give me some rest time since its not as much mileage, but enough to keep in shape!
I can’t believe that was my 5th marathon! But you know what people say ” Running is a mental sport….and we are all crazy!”

About angierunner

I am a college graduate that never moved away from her college town. One of my hobbies is to train and run races, usually half marathons and marathons. I am always trying new healthy foods. I just recently got into eating lots of Vegan and Vegetarian dishes. I am not a Vegetarian, but I like to "flirt" with the idea. This blog will be mainly just me living my life...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

